Anxiety & What You Can Do To Stay Calm

When I first started having anxiety at the beginning of the year, it was very situational. I would be behind the wheel or in a crowded classroom and start to feel it; I would feel like I couldn’t breathe and become lightheaded. I never freaked out about it because I knew why I was feeling that way, since I was in the situation. In the last month, I’ve been having anxiety brought on by things I didn’t even realize. I started to feel my heart flutter and it just freaked me out. I was really worried and I didn’t even think it was anxiety or a panic attack, like that never even crossed my mind. I even ended up in the ER because of it, and it does NOT have to get to that point of course. I’m just a big worrier when I feel like I’m not in control. In the end, I realized I was just having panic attacks about having anxiety & I didn’t even know it!

 I get anxiety when I feel alone or if I think I’m going to be alone for a long period of time, I also get it when I feel stressed or is I feel stuck somewhere. I usually get anxiety at night when everyone is asleep; I’ve been having a hard time sleeping and the anxiety keeps me awake. Its extremely frustrating. Yet, now that I’ve realized why I’m feeling the way I do, I know I just need to calm down and realize I’m not alone! I can call anyone, any time I need them. So, just try to pin-point what’s triggering your anxiety and try to ease your mind.

When I feel a panic attack I get the shivers, I lose the feeling in my fingertips, my heart races so much I can feel it fluttering in my chest, and I get a really strong urge to just cry. I also feel no desire to eat because it makes me feel very sick and water is something that I need, because my throat goes super dry. My breathing is also abnormal because I’m trying to compensate for my heart beating so fast and how sick I feel. This is all VERY new to me, my past panics have been a load more tame than the ones I’ve had lately. Now, I just need to tell myself that I’m okay. Nothing bad will come from the panic attacks, and I need to take control of my mind because this is not something physically wrong with my body, which I’ve thought before.

Yoga is something that is super relaxing and can really help you to calm down. If you feel anxiety driving, five minutes before leaving do some yoga. (Same with any situation.)

three_new_yoga_poses

Breathing is very important. My heart rate goes sky high when I’m feeling anxious, so if you just close your eyes and take long slow breaths it can really help you to calm down. Plus, if you’re doing something that brings you joy can really help. Listen to a favorite song, read, watch tv, or write a blog post which I do, anything that helps you to feel calm.

Try going to a quiet place. Sometimes all I need is complete silence and a change of scenery. So, if you get anxiety while out and about, you can go into the restroom or just leave where you are, and try to sort your thoughts. Try not to stress about time either, even you’re out with people; take your time because stressing about what they’re thinking will only make you panic more, the right friends will totally understand what you’re going through.

Lastly, don’t be hard on yourself! So many people feel anxiety each day. Being hard on yourself isn’t gonna make it go away. You just need to realize this is human and normal, it’s ok that you’re feeling like this because you can work on it! I’m in no way an expert or anything but I know anxiety can be scary, so I wanted to share what I’ve learned.

4 thoughts on “Anxiety & What You Can Do To Stay Calm

Leave a Reply

